MES EnglishFlashcardsPhonicsGamesWorksheetsOnline ESL GamesCertificatesPrintable Calendars

Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Does this happen to everyone teaching children? 
MES-Member

Post Does this happen to everyone teaching children?
I have been teaching children now for almost seven years so I'm not inexperienced or a novice at this but what happens so often is that the first few months of teaching go very well, the children have great fun and join in everything and do what I have prepared, then one or two start to misbehave and refuse to join in and cause a distraction so the lesson ends up an hour of trying to keep the discipline.
I have several "ace cards" in my repertoire of activities which hold the children's attention for at least the ten minutes it takes but sometimes even these don't work.
Teaching children seems to go through three stages: The Furby stage when they are all wide eyed and innocent doing everything you want them to, then comes the Gremlin stage when they're completely out of control and push your patience to the limit ( It always reminds me of the whack the mole game - figuratively speaking), then comes the third stage which is a bit of the two first stages when they are still quite wild but do the activities and learn at the same time which is exhausting but satisfying.

One of my groups is at the Gremlin stage and I keep trying to find ways to keep the discipline but I'm running out of aces and patience.

Wed Nov 01, 2006 5:38 pm
MES-Member

I have experienced the same pattern in teaching kids - no matter what the subject. I never really thought of it as stages, but I think the way you have described it is perfect. At first they are a bit timid and want to impress. Then they get comfortable - too comfortable and some try to see what they can get away with. Then things settle down to a fun managable chaos ;-)