MES EnglishFlashcardsPhonicsGamesWorksheetsOnline ESL GamesCertificatesPrintable Calendars

Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Teaching in non-sequential modules. 
MES-Zealot!

Post Teaching in non-sequential modules.
I began teaching English 3 years ago. Being a foreiner in rural Brazil, and having picked up the language (Self taught using a "barefoot" language learning technique), I was offered a part-time job as an English teacher. Well, they gave me the English Time book from Oxford and I just followed the directions. They also gave me teachers books from a franchise called Planet. Again. I just followed the directions.

Two years out, I realized I knew what I was doing. Often, better than the books. One big problem that the school has is a high dropout rate. They limit their classrooms to 12 students, but in any given semester, 3 students either quit, or don't come back for the next semester. Needless to say, 12 can get down to just 4 students in a year and a half. This isn't lucrative for the school. The problem was, that with these books one lesson depends on another, so new students can't be added to the group.

When I opened my own school a year ago. I planned out several grammar and vocabulary aspects of English and divided them into groups that do not depend on one another. Now, instead of teaching in semester, I teach in quarters. These modules are all independant. So one student can stay in the class for 2 years and do 8 modules, each with new vocabulary and grammar (though some grammar overlaps, I don't see this as a problem, because the kids don't know they are learning grammar anyway). New, students can come in any time we are starting a new module.

Now, when I have some one drop out, there are always new students to take their place. My kids classes are almost always full.

Tue Oct 24, 2006 8:02 pm
Profile WWW
MES-Member

Post in a similar situation