MES EnglishFlashcardsPhonicsGamesWorksheetsOnline ESL GamesCertificatesPrintable Calendars

Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
HALLOWEEN 
MES-Addict

Post HALLOWEEN
I'm just beginning to plan my Halloween lesson for this year.
Anyone have any good lesson plans or activities for teaching Halloween in a 45 minute class?

I've seen lots of good ideas for a bigger party, but I'm wondering about a classroom setting...

Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:08 pm
MES-Fanatic!

In small classes, I have had the students do halloween mazes or word searches. It was pretty much a free class and no real teaching :P but the students enjoyed a break from studying and they liked the halloween pictures and games.

There is a good bingo game for halloween here as well as Mark's site:) I used this bingo before for halloween and also the Christmas one.

http://www.crayola.com/search/results.c ... go&x=8&y=6

Colouring pages are always great too! I used to hang all the students pictures on the wall for decorations ;)

Fri Sep 22, 2006 2:26 pm
Site Admin

If you have access to a computer lab, there is the possibility of doing an internet search or webquest for halloween. You can make up a few questions for each group and let them go at it for 20 minutes or so. Then, discuss the answers and see if there were any discrepancies. With the remaining time send them over to my Halloween game www.marks-english-school.com/games/halloween.html

Once I talked with some students about Halloween and answered their questions after my brief explanation. Then I passed out orange paper with a pumpkin outline and had them make their own Jack o' Lanterns. We cut them out and then pasted them around the room. For older students you can have them cut the faces out as well and then put them in the windows. That way the light will pass through the design just like a lit pumpkin! Well... almost.