MES EnglishFlashcardsPhonicsGamesWorksheetsOnline ESL GamesCertificatesPrintable Calendars

Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Pull-Out ESL Help! 
MES-Member

Post Pull-Out ESL Help!
I am a second year teacher in an elementary school. I do pull-out ESL for grades K-5 at all different levels--some who have just arrived and don't speak a word of English, and some who are almost ready to be transitioned out of the program.

I have a few materials that I have collected over the past year but we still don't have a curriculum or any sort of reading program. Right now I am working on developing a beginner program just getting them adjusted to the school and through major areas (colors, shapes, numbers, alphabet, weather, time, etc.) Does anyone have any advice about things that you use in your classroom? I'm interested in any materials used, not just beginners, although that's what I'm working on right now.

Thank you!

Wed Oct 22, 2008 9:18 am
MES-Zealot!

What do you mean when you say 'pull-out ESL'? Is that a course book?

Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:10 pm
MES-Zealot!

Have you looked at Reading A to Z or their partner programs RAZ kids and Science A to Z. It is a website that let's you download very short graded readers. The RAZ kids program has the same books as Reading A to Z but students can listen to the stories as the read on-line. All of these programs have different levels on the same topic. You can sign up to get free copies and trial period.

Also Beth Skelton has a DVD on how to shelter English on her website:
http://www.bethskelton.com/materials.html

I haven't seen the video but I've read numerous examples that were really clear and helpful. For example she described how she taught about photosynthesis to ESL learners.

Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:05 pm
MES-Member

What do you mean when you say 'pull-out ESL'? Is that a course book?

i think withdrawal is what was meant?